Dialogue

Student evaluation

Excellent
Very good
Average
Mediocre
Horrible
Selection

Average evaluation

Overall rating
4.4 /5
549 reviews
Recommendation rate
25043 reviews

Val Thorens
MAISON DE VAL THORENS

73440 Saint-Martin-de-Belleville

Pinned review
By Karen T.
Stay on 04/2024
Envoyer une question
Val Thorens_1
By Karen T.
Stay on 04/2024
Envoyer une question
  • Val Thorens_1 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Children 7 to 12 years , Teens & Adults_1 Children 7 to 12 years , Teens & Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
My children and myself had great ...
Overall rating

My children and myself had great group lessons with great instructors. My children were in Ourson having never skied before but were split into ability groups allowing them to progress very quickly and even successfully achieve the flocon badge despite being in Ourson. Only disappointment was the lack of communication on the first day with bad weather when Ourson were kept inside but all other groups were out. We were not notified that this was the plan and had we known we would have kept our children with us for the morning and taken them out to ski. Apart from this the rest of the week was great and the instructors were fab and I would definitely book with ESF again.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 08/04/2024
Report abuse
By Dane B.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_2
By Dane B.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_2 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Adults_1 Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
Philippe had a really fun attitude ...
Overall rating

Philippe had a really fun attitude and good sense of humor. A couple of the days had really poor visibility so it was nice to have somebody to follow and not have to think much about it. I was the only English speaker in the group so feel as though most of the explanations were done in French and the English explanations were far smaller and fewer between. I don't think I improved much after my lessons and would probably just get a one or two private lessons in the future vs a week of group lessons.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 22/04/2024
Report abuse
By Rod C.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_3
By Rod C.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_3 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Children 7 to 12 years_1 Children 7 to 12 years
  • Private lessons_2 Private lessons
In my view, ESF is still the best ...
Overall rating

In my view, ESF is still the best option for ski school in any resort.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 21/04/2024
Report abuse
By Charlotte R.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_4
By Charlotte R.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_4 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Adults_1 Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
We booked a friend onto a beginners ...
Overall rating

We booked a friend onto a beginners group lesson.
Informing ESF that our friend had only had 2 days ski experience. She was placed in a group of adults clearly more advanced and was not at the same level. On the first day out of 5 lessons, after one hour the instructor told her to go herself to the ESF office and ask to be put onto tomorrow mornings class which would be more suitable. When she got there the staff were confused and slightly rude but put her in the morning class.
Which again, was not her level of beginners. My friend felt she had not been supported by ESF as they didn’t cater to my friends needs. They should have provided her a moniteur specifically for beginners. We were not satisfied with ESF and won’t be using them again.

Not recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 18/04/2024
Report abuse
By Matt B.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_5
By Matt B.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_5 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Teens_1 Teens
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
Overall rating

This customer gave a mark of 5/5 at ESF Val Thorens in 18/04/2024, but did not wish to leave a comment.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 18/04/2024
Report abuse
By Katharine C.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_6
By Katharine C.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_6 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Children 3 to 6 years & Children 7 to 12 years_1 Children 3 to 6 years & Children 7 to 12 years
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
As I booked for 4 children, this ...
Overall rating

As I booked for 4 children, this was difficult to answer, two had great experiences and two didn’t progress as they should. I was extremely disappointed by sifflote as the child did LESS skiing than they did in Piou Piou last year in another resort. They did not progress at all.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 18/04/2024
Report abuse
By Jonathan D.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_7
By Jonathan D.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_7 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Children 7 to 12 years_1 Children 7 to 12 years
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
Overall rating

This customer gave a mark of 4/5 at ESF Val Thorens in 17/04/2024, but did not wish to leave a comment.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 17/04/2024
Report abuse
By Philip W.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_8
By Philip W.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_8 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Children 7 to 12 years , Teens & Adults_1 Children 7 to 12 years , Teens & Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
Clear instruction which took me out ...
Overall rating

Clear instruction which took me out of my comfort zone and allowed me to improve significantly. Claud in Val Thorens is clearly very experienced and has years of teaching behind him

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 16/04/2024
Report abuse
By Chris P.
Stay on 04/2024
Envoyer une question
Val Thorens_9
By Chris P.
Stay on 04/2024
Envoyer une question
  • Val Thorens_9 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Teens & Adults_1 Teens & Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
Overall rating

This customer gave a mark of 4/5 at ESF Val Thorens in 15/04/2024, but did not wish to leave a comment.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 15/04/2024
Report abuse
By David O.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_10
By David O.
Stay on 04/2024
  • Val Thorens_10 Val Thorens
  • Alpine ski_0 Alpine ski
  • Adults_1 Adults
  • Group courses_2 Group courses
The timing of the sessions (9.00 ...
Overall rating

The timing of the sessions (9.00 start for both adults and kids) makes it difficult for parents. I had to ask others to take my son down so that we could both make the sessions. A staggered start time would be helpful for such parents.

Recommend Val Thorens
Security
Progression
Teaching methods
Price
Organisation
Report abuse
Authentic review posted on 15/04/2024
Report abuse
By Annick V.
Stay on 04/2024
Val Thorens_11
By Annick V.
Stay on 04/2024